Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav

Carry On

Cover of Carry On

Carry On

#1 New York Times bestselling author!

Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One who's ever been chosen.

That's what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he's probably right.

Half the time, Simon can't even make his wand work, and the other half, he starts something on fire. His mentor's avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there's a magic-eating monster running around, wearing Simon's face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it's their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon's infuriating nemesis didn't even bother to show up.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story and a mystery. It has just as much kissing and talking as you'd expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters.

#1 New York Times bestselling author!

Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One who's ever been chosen.

That's what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he's probably right.

Half the time, Simon can't even make his wand work, and the other half, he starts something on fire. His mentor's avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there's a magic-eating monster running around, wearing Simon's face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it's their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon's infuriating nemesis didn't even bother to show up.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story and a mystery. It has just as much kissing and talking as you'd expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters.

Available formats-
  • OverDrive Listen
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Text Difficulty:

Recommended for you


Reviews-
  • Publisher's Weekly

    Starred review from October 19, 2015
    Rowell's many fans know that the characters in this novel derive from her 2013 book, Fangirl, where they appeared in two forms: the "official" version of a Harry Potterlike series and the funnier, funkier, and gayer fanfic written by Cath, Fangirl's heroine. Now Simon Snow, the greatest magician the world has ever seen; possible vampire Basilton "Baz" Pitch, Simon's roommate and nemesis; and Simon's intrepid and loyal best friend Penelope have their own book. Along with Simon's semi-ex girlfriend Agatha, the three are negotiating their last year at the Watford School of Magicks amid a crisis in the magical world, much of which seems to involve Simon. Although in no way fan fiction (apart from its connections to Fangirl), this book can be read as a tribute to Harry Potter and Lev Grossman's Magicians series, and it's a sterling example of how to use genre conventions to create something new. Seen in that light, it hardly matters that some of the plot twists feel more like confirmations than surprises. Everything else—the funny, wised-up dialogue, the tumultuous, sweet, and sexy love story— is grade-A Rowell, and if you've ever wondered what makes a spell a spell, this book explains all. The doubled suspense—Will Simon and Baz finally admit that seven years of mutual obsession might be more than antagonism? Will Simon, Baz, and Penny figure out what's threatening their world in time to save it?—makes for a book that readers will find almost impossible to put down. Ages 13–up. Agent: Christopher Schelling, Selectric Artists.

  • AudioFile Magazine There's something spellbinding about Euan Morton's voice, which is only appropriate for this novel set in magical England. From the start, listeners know that the hero of this story is a different kind of Chosen One. Using subtle changes to differentiate characters and indicate different social classes and genders, Morton's voice goes rough and growly, sharp and cultured as he inhabits Simon Snow, his friends Penelope and Agatha, and his roommate, Baz, at the Watford School of Magicks. The world is both familiar and not--Hogwarts with swearing, with less whimsy and more grit. As the story builds, there are plenty of moments of intrigue and romance that will have listeners catching their breath. Through it all, Morton stays in perfect, sympathetic step. J.M.D. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award © AudioFile 2015, Portland, Maine
  • School Library Journal

    Starred review from January 1, 2016

    Gr 9 Up-Simon Snow is back with his own story, after being introduced as a fanfiction hero in Rowell's Fangirl (St. Martin's Griffin, 2013). It's senior year at the Watford School of Magicks, but Simon's roommate/nemesis Baz is nowhere to be found, which disconcerts Simon more than he would have guessed. When Baz finally does turn up, Simon offers to help him find out who killed his mother, and an uneasy truce is developed among the two boys and Simon's best friend, Penny. The group dynamics evolve as the teens fight for magic and for their lives. Scottish actor Euan Morton narrates and does a stunning job, especially with the complex characters of Simon and Baz. He reveals the heart of each character, portraying Simon as an uncertain magician, uncomfortable with his magical power yet trying to merit his title of "The Chosen One," while vampire Baz is occasionally cruel and always cool yet concealing a surprisingly emotional side. This audiobook is sure to please a wide range of listeners with its sweet romance, terrifying adventures, and inventive magical creations. Wonderful fantasy-type music begins and ends the listening experience. VERDICT An essential purchase for fans of Harry Potter and Rainbow Rowell, as well as lovers of fantasy. ["With rock-solid worldbuilding, a sweet and believable romance subplot, and satisfying ending, Rowell's latest is a monumentally enjoyable reading experience": SLJ 11/15 starred review of the St. Martin's Griffin book.]-Julie Paladino, formerly of East Chapel Hill High School, NC

    Copyright 2016 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Title Information+
  • Publisher
    Macmillan Audio
  • OverDrive Listen
    Release date:
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 day(s).

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Enhanced Details

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Permissions

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Holds

Total holds:


Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Carry On
Carry On
Rainbow Rowell
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel